Accessible Navigation. Go to: Navigation Main Content Footer

Philosophy

Philosophy is the search for an understanding of how the world as a whole hangs together and of how we are to assume our place in the world. Philosophy pursues its goal first of all historically. It is the trustee of the heritage of great philosophical texts, and it engages those texts in conversation with contemporary problems. Second, philosophy turns to the contemporary world directly and tries to illuminate and advance its concerns with ethics and art, with science and technology, with ecology and feminism, with law and medicine.

Website: http://cas.umt.edu/phil/
Contact: LA 101 (406) 243-2949
Chair: Paul Muench



Philosophy Faculty

Borgmann, Albert

Regents Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 149  |  Phone: (406) 243-2792  |  albert.borgmann@umontana.edu

Clarke, Bridget

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 148  |  Phone: (406) 243-5314  |  bridget.clarke@umontana.edu

Duwell, Armond

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 154  |  Phone: (406) 243-6281  |  armond.duwell@umontana.edu

Le Bihan, Soazig

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 153  |  Phone: (406) 243-6233  |  soazig.lebihan@umontana.edu

Muench, Paul

Associate Professor of Philosophy
Office: JRH 206  |  Phone: (406) 243-2949  |  paul.muench@umontana.edu

Preston, Christopher

Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 157  |  Phone: (406) 243-2141  |  christopher.preston@umontana.edu

Sherman, David

Professor of Philosophy
Office: LA 159  |  Phone: (406) 243-2607  |  david.sherman@umontana.edu

Slicer, Deborah

Professor of Philosophy, Graduate Advisor
Office: LA 155  |  Phone: (406) 243-2527  |  deborah.slicer@umontana.edu

Strohl, Matthew

Associate Professor of Philosophy, Department Chair
Office: LA 147  |  Phone: (406) 243-2026  |  matthew.strohl@umontana.edu