Faculty & Staff

 

Professors

Sarah J. Halvorson

Office: Stone Hall 211
Phone: (406) 243-2793
Email: sarah.halvorson@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Water Resource Geography, Hazards and Disasters, Mountain Geography, Gender and the Environment, Central and South Asia.

David Shively

Office: Stone Hall 212
Phone: (406) 243-6478
Email: david.shively@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Environmental Geography, Geomorphology, Spatial/Land Use Planning, Water Resources, Watershed Management.

Christiane von Reichert

Office: Stone Hall 210
Phone: 406-243-4784
Email: chris.vonreichert@mso.umt.edu

Specialization:
Migration, Rural Areas, Economic Geography, Socio-demographic Community Analysis, Transportation, Geographically Marginalized Populations. 

Associate Professors

Ulrich Kamp

Office: Stone Hall 205
Phone: (406) 243-6469
Email: ulrich.kamp@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Cryosphere, Environmental Change, Geomorphology, Mountain Geography, Natural Hazards.

Anna Klene

Office: Stone Hall 216
Phone: (406) 243-4347
Email: anna.klene@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Arctic and Alpine Environments, Climatology, Cryosphere, Geomorphology, Modeling, Remote Sensing.

Assistant Professors

T.H. Diep Dao

Office: Stone Hall 207
Phone: 406-243-6821
Email: diep.dao@mso.umt.edu

Specialization:
Geographical Information Science (GIScience), Spatial Analysis, Spatial Data Mining, GeoComputation, GPS-based Positioning and Navigation

Lecturer

Rick Graetz

Office: Stone Hall 307A
Phone: 406-243-2307
Email: rick.graetz@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Mountain Geography, Crown of the Continent, United States, Geographical Education, Historical Geography.

Kevin McManigal

Office: 206 Stone Hall
Phone: 406-243-6691
Email: kevin.mcmanigal@mso.umt.edu

Specialization:
Cartography, GIS, Remote Sensing, Mountain Geography, Glaciology

Adjunct

Loey Knapp

Office: SS 126
Phone: 243-6309
Email: loey.knapp@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Cartography, GIS, Southeast Asia.

Caleb Pan

Office: Stone Hall, 307B
Phone:
Email: caleb.pan@mso.umt.edu

Specialization:
Mountain Geography, Environmental Change, Remote Sensing of Snow and Ice, Alpine Hydrology, Central Asia, and South American Andes.

Faculty Affiliates

Donald Alford

Office:
Phone:
Email:

Heather Almquist

Office: Stone Hall 304C
Phone: 406-370-0139
Email: heather.almquist@umontana.edu

Specialization:
Geoscience and Geospatial Education, Paleoecology, Historical Geography.

Claudia J. Carr

Office: 137 Giannini Hall, UC-Berkeley
Phone: 510-643-3964
Email: claudiacarr@berkeley.edu

Specialization:
International and Rural Resource Development

Faith Ann Heinsch

Office:
Phone:
Email: faith.heinsch@umontana.edu

Zachary A. Holden

Office: 200 East Broadway St.
Phone: 406 329-3119
Email: zaholdenfs@gmail.com

Specialization:
Ecology, Climate, Climate Change,  Remote Sensing, biogeography, fire ecology

Ia Iashvili

Office:
Phone:
Email:

Philip Maechling

Office:
Phone:
Email: maechling@bigsky.net

Specialization:
Landscape and Community Planning, Historic Preservation

Irena Mrak

Office: Department of Geography, The University of Ljubljana
Phone:
Email: irena.mrak@siol.net

Specialization:
Geomorphology, Glaciology, Hazards, "High" Asia, Mountain Geography.

Thomas Sullivan

Office:
Phone:
Email: thomas.sullivan@mso.umt.edu

Specialization:
Social and Cultural Geography, Performance Theory, Urban and Recreational Planning, Sustainable Transportation Systems.

James Sylvester

Office:
Phone:
Email: jim.sylvester@business.umt.edu

Tamara Wall

Office:
Phone:
Email:

Emeritus Faculty

Darshan S. Kang
Paul Wilson

Staff

Nancy Forman-Ebel

Office: Stone Hall 208
Phone: 406-243-4302
Email: nancy.forman-ebel@umontana.edu