Welcome to the
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Math Logo
Faculty
Graduate Students
Staff
Free Tutoring
Private Tutors
Information for:
Classes
Undergraduate Students
Graduate Students
Summer Programs for Teachers
Colloquia & Events
PNW MAA
Weekly Seminar Schedule
UM Math Circle
Department
Statistics & Applied Math CORE
Department Newsletter
The Lennes Collection
Mission assessment
Research Areas
Technical Reports
** Systems Information **
Statistics & Applied Math Core
Welcome to Statistics and Applied mathematics CORE (SAMC) at the Department of Mathematical Sciences.

The CORE is designed to help researchers at The University of Montana and wider community of Missoula and the State of Montana with the data analysis, modeling and optimization needs.
Focus Areas
  • Analysis of data from biology (including human health and human performance)
  • Analysis of environmental data (including ecology, remote sensing, climatology, and wild land fire)
  • Design of experiments
  • Generalized linear mixed models (including logistic regression, generalized linear models, linear mixed models, repeated measurement data, and pseudo-replication problems)
  • Multivariate methods (including dimension reduction, principal components analysis, and analysis of microarray data)
  • Statistical Learning (principally prediction and classification problems, and analysis high dimensional data)
  • Construction and analysis of dynamical continuous time and discrete time models in biology, ecology, molecular biology, neuroscience, chemical kinetics, and other disciplines (including spatially dependent models)
  • Identification of dynamic models' parameters from experimental data and construction of statistically reliable model predictions
Personnel
Leonid Kalachev, SAMC Director
Professor, Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-4373
kalachev@mso.umt.edu

John Bardsley
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-5328
bardsleyj@mso.umt.edu

Jon Graham
Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-2561
jgraham@mso.umt.edu

Solomon Harrar
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-5562
harrar@mso.umt.edu

Mark Kayll
Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-2403
mark.kayll@umontana.edu

David Patterson
Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-6748
dapatterson@mso.umt.edu

Brian Steele
Associate Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-5396
brian.steele@umontana.edu

Emily Stone
Professor, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-5365
stone@mso.umt.edu
Contact Us
Mailing address
Statistics and Applied Mathematics CORE (SAMC)
Department of Mathematical Sciences
The University of Montana
32 Campus Drive
Missoula, MT 59812
Location
The University of Montana, Missoula
Department of Mathematical Sciences
Mathematics Building Room 309
Contact
Leonid Kalachev, SAMC Director
Professor, Chair, Department of Mathematical Sciences
406-243-4373
kalachev@mso.umt.edu

FAX: (406) 243-2674
Mathematical Sciences | University of Montana